2017 Jun 16 ~ 28

Discussed with a kind stranger on an /ic/ discord my progress; “i need to somehow change my mentality from grinding tiny anatomy insertions and proportions to learning how to draw and color and all the other things…“. They gave me a project, saying projects are how the majority of progression should happen (2:1::project:study), and emphasized that completion was more important than anything else.

I didn’t complete it.

I said last time that last year’s Oct 30 ~ Nov 07 was my gold standard; now I know why that is. I really have been approaching things wrong this whole time. Not so much that studying is bad, but that studying isn’t the most important thing, and the right ground can’t really be covered just through studying anyways. I’m not sure what the project:study ratio should be, but it’s certainly closer to 2:1 than 1:10,000.

you master your waifu anatomy and your hair styles
i tell you to draw me a waifu riding with a pack of elephants
what do you do for the elephants

I faced the same problem again in learning coding. I wanted to do something specific, spent hours looking through reference material, front to back, looking through documentation of all possible syntax, picking up nothing because it didn’t mean anything… then out of frustration I went to google, and it was the first result. I learned what I needed, I implemented what I wanted – what would be the alternative? Memorize the entirety of javascript first? Ludicrous. Yet that’s basically how I’ve approached drawing up until now.

I need to rethink how I think. “More hours” isn’t going to get me out of this one…



A 17_06_16-18

Tried out a few different things in implementing legs into initial layout. Attempting to use “gesture” lines and not shape ran into the same old problem


B 17_06_21-22

I feel like there’s some other guiding principle that I’ve been misled about. Hogarth’s examples of drapery all look silly anyways; no one would actually want to draw clothing like he does. His words look good, his demonstrations don’t, which means there’s some other way to think about it…

A bunch of “before-after” because it feels like I learn things this way.

Butts and thigh range of movement.


B 17_06_21-22

I feel like there’s some other guiding principle that I’ve been misled about. Hogarth’s examples of drapery all look silly anyways; no one would actually want to draw clothing like he does. His words look good, his demonstrations don’t, which means there’s some other way to think about it…

A bunch of “before-after” because it feels like I learn things this way.


C 17_06_20-21

Grinded various things out of nowhere out of anger and impotence.


C 17_06_21-22

Huge tits with waist means long ribcage.

Sizing. Only four things to keep track of, but I’d never done it before.
Perspective/Shot. A table of X size can only appear in a certain way to someone of Y height.


C 17_06_28

scratchwork for D of same date.

Sizing. Only four things to keep track of, but I’d never done it before.
Perspective/Shot. A table of X size can only appear in a certain way to someone of Y height.


D 17_06_20

Thought about copying reference but decided it would be easier on paper, both because of hand-eye coordination problems, and because there’s something in holding a sketchbook at arm’s length that can’t be reproduced by zooming out.


D 17_06_28

Was given a project after some discussion about progress with a stranger: make a comic out of Chapter 15 of The Count of Monte Cristo. After reading it I decided on about half of it, and felt out how things should be split up per page/panel… but this was as far as I got before the anxiety set in.

One thought on “2017 Jun 16 ~ 28

Leave a Reply

