2017 Jun 06 ~ 16

I feel like I’m getting nothing done these days. Hair definitely took more mental energy per unit area than anything I’ve done up till this point, and I think I made decent progress on it, but it doesn’t feel like two week’s worth. Just did a little bit and then stopped for the day. The Oct 30 ~ Nov 7 period is probably my gold standard: spent a lot of time every day, filled a lot of space, and learned a bit of a lot of things. Then again I also didn’t learn anything that stuck other than “man I suck at everything”.

Part of it is I probably like clean work paths too much. I’ve been thinking about starting work on drawing nonhumans/objects for a while, but where would I put them? Here I’m working on limbs and foreshortening, there I’m working on hair… it’d be messy if I just started putting in random things! And if I can be bothered to draw tools and vehicles, why not just draw something I’m already working on instead?

Maybe I need a third sketchbook. Or one that I don’t upload.

Or maybe I should just do work. I’m not going to be able to make even lineart pinups by the end of the year at the rate I’m going.


B 17_05_08+06_01+06_09-14

Was attempting to copy a hairstyle when I noticed my understanding of how to put hair on a head prevented me from doing it, so I went back to paper and figured it out.

Bottom half was mostly filling up the page. I did learn that my pencil skills aren’t so amazing and hair is actually better with digital stabilizers after setting up a scratchwork layer beforehand, but everything else is still easier on paper. At least for now.


D 17_06_06-08

More hair.

Considered trying out blobs for masses of hair rather than just outlines. Decided against because I don’t know how to control blobs and have no experience how to interpret them as a construction method.


D 17_06_06-08

More hair. Stopped after the first one to work on paper. The rest was just grinding from imagination to demonstrate that I understood what I learned.

Which I didn’t, the final one didn’t look any significantly better than what I was able to do 4/30. I just put a bunch more lines that looked like a mess and felt like a mess. I knew what the problems were – initial shape needed more breakups, overall lock size needed to decrease, detailing needed to go from top to bottom so locks have clear starting points…


D 17_06_16

…I think it turned out better. The hair, anyways.

Tried to put a face on it after all the hair and it didn’t really work out. It’s passable but only barely; become obvious once it’s flipped. Couldn’t put in eyes. Couldn’t put a body on it either because I didn’t plan for it and the hair couldn’t suddenly be made to flow around something rather than being flat.

I’ve seen video processes of some artists drawing and redrawing and warping/transforming facial features after the fact… but it’s really uncomfortable to watch. Even just marqueeing and moving feels weird. I can sort of imagine how it might work, and I can see how it’s a useful skill to have, but I don’t think I’ll have it for a while.

Leave a Reply

