2017 May 08 ~ Jun 02

Didn’t upload a batch for first half of May because I spent every waking hour playing Persona 5. I wouldn’t recommend it.

After basically a straight month of a bunch of videogames, I feel kind of lost and not particularly motivated with drawing. In a sense it’s useful, it was much easier to convince myself to do some copies of values and hair, and to stop focusing on even more head-ribcage combinations. But it feels like I’m not doing enough, and I’m only doing it because I feel like “I have to draw”.

I guess it’s better than feeling “I don’t have to draw”.


A 17_05_08-09+22-23

First half more ado about necks. Second half more ado about nothing.

Two-week gap of Persona 5.


A 17_05_28-31

Didn’t know what to do again so just threw around some things from the 4/29 list. Wanted to work on arms and foreshortening, there were some diameter problems with forearms, but what bugged me the most was the line transitions/insertions at the armpit so I revisited that.


A 17_05_31-06_01

Armpits in tension make a lot of sense, in compression not so sure. Seems to be true in general; nice shapes on body parts usually don’t appear when it’s in compression.

I don’t know how much emphasis I should be putting on the forward/bent-over positions. It’s definitely something that’s fairly common in regular human activity, but it’s also definitely something I’ve never seen in pinups. A friend told me I should probably get to basic competency the other important things first, which to me is hair, clothing, and color. It feels bad to leave these around though.


D 17_05_24-26

Trying to force some rendering time. All the introduction books to rendering talk about concepts like terminator or midtones and what is effectively a bunch of other unusable fluff words, so I just tried messing around for a bit, because the important question for me was “How do I control all these stupid blobs to make them do what I want?”.

Most of my learning in drawing so far has just been copying pictures I like. Maybe it’ll be the same with rendering. Above anything else it’ll be several hundreds of attempts before I get anywhere decent, and there’s nothing out there with that many exercises.


D 17_06_01-02

Stopped the first one because the overall proportions were too wrong. I probably could’ve continued filling in the inner details in a distorted way, but I wanted to try and understand how each line contributed to the whole and the final product, and it felt like at that point it was already a shit cake.

Leave a Reply

