2017 Apr 10 ~ 21

Gonna put my drawing stuff here from now on too. Older stuff can be found here or here.

Upload schedule is other week, usually Saturday, occasionally Friday or Sunday.


Digital lines are a pain. Asked around and was told there’s no trick to it, I just have to grind a couple thousand curves through pre-established points. Which sounds about right, since the answer can’t possibly be vectors, but I still don’t like it. Means that the problem here is mostly one of mechanical finesse rather than any sort of mental refinement.

Integrating down to calves and feet, though, is. Using head length as a unit the full body is ~2 units wide and ~8 units tall, or 1:4 aspect ratio. I’ve primarily been working in 1:1 to about 1:2.5; doing something so long just feels weird. There’s also the part where if I want to make it large enough to have the most basic of details in eyes and eyebrows so that 0.5mm doesn’t trip over itself, a 1:4 means I’d need to take up ~2/3 of the page’s height.

That being said, this is also not a problem one’d naturally associate with “learning to draw”. Just as digital lining is a problem between tablet and chair, foot integration is a problem between anatomical understanding and mark-making instrument. Neither are my favorite kind of problem.

Problems, problems, problems.

A 17_04_10-13
Wasn’t too clear what I needed to be doing. Saw that pupils/irises were on my to-do list.


A 17_04_14-16
I always thought of the long eye type as simpler, but somewhere along the way the tables flipped. Not because I got particularly worse at them, but because I got better at the other type, and I started to know what to look for.

Long type is more difficult because of the nose, which has lower tolerances because it’s more realistic.


A 17_04_17
Didn’t end up being all too difficult. Just took a bit of space.


A 17_04_18
Adding the head and eyes really tightens the tolerances.


A 17_04_18-21
Had the thought of enforcing some sort of minimum level of detail; if it’s just a head it should detail hair, eyes, expressions, if it’s just a torso the hands should be there or at least some drapery. There seems to be an infinite number of things to refine and since that’s my “comfort zone” mixing them in a bit before and after bigger ones feels pretty nice.

Let’s see if I can’t make myself put more things together this time.


B 17_04_18-20
Started with looking closer at some silhouettes, then looked at motion instead.


D 17_04_21_2
Took ~10 minutes to go from nothing to final on paper.
Took ~100 minutes to go over only this much in lines digitally. Did some lines, then erased and refined, almost every line had its own layer, the jawline had four… I was originally planning to do hair but no way in hell was I going to touch it with this complete lack of speed.

Definitely missing something.

Leave a Reply

