The Active Voice (Scrubs p.2)

On Facebook I tend to read and link stuff that isn’t mainstream. Other than for funny and silly pictures, I never see likes/comments/shares over double digits (the idea that a simple copypasta gets a couple hundred thousand likes is mindblowing – perhaps I hail from an older internet). This is partially due to facebook mechanics forcing me to sign up for some app which can do this and that to my account in order to read articles, but also because articles are generally bad in format and thus ideas. The indication that something I read is a big event is when my mainstream and fringe friends both start posting about the same thing. The last big thing that happened was probably the Trayvon Martin shooting. I don’t remember of anything that both groups have posted of since.

Currently, it is obviously the Batman shooting. Gun control, he’s white so it’s mental illness, maybe this was all a setup, gasp he looks like some other serial killer, he was an occupier, etc. I’m not going to particularly get into it for reasons I discussed in my previous post: I don’t care about this individual instance. I don’t know where this place is, I don’t go to the movies, and I don’t know anybody in Colorado. In addition, all the standard big ideas that were being talked about were all pretty old and broken in every direction so it wasn’t too interesting to me.

I found a side of the story that was only being posted by my fringe friends.

It was about how at least three of the twelve who died that night were men protecting their girlfriends. One dove on top of his girlfriend, one used himself as a shielf, and the third threw his girlfriend to the ground and didn’t have time to do the same for himself. I had read about this here, and the style was mostly in “these were men and these were their stories” style. Being the case that I had many posts planned and thus was unable to write any, I postponed writing about it. I was mostly going to give my own thoughts on how these actions were exemplary of a higher principle, and perhaps go into a post where I write out my views on the order between the sexes. Maybe a little history, a little philosophy, who knows. I saw it as a great opportunity to do something.

But now I can’t, because it’s been polluted by the masses.

>  As it should be if they truley love them!!

> Thats real shit true love

> I got mad Respect for them. R.I.P

>  ‎#realmen

> Damn….I wasnt expecting to get 700 likes on this. But im happy:) Shows that people care

> Now girls can’t make their status about “All guys being the same……”

> Thats right ladies… Not only are there men out there that will not put there hands on you except to love you, there are even a few that will make the ultimate sacrifice to keep their woman safe. Heres to all the real men out there. Damn the rest of you.

Well, more accurately, the problem is that I don’t want to write about it anymore because I’m disappointed I missed the opportunity. At a time where everyone was crying over some six year old, here was this side of the story which could be used for a positive and not an anti-negative end! While everyone else was running around and screaming, these men took control of the situation to the best of their abilities. Damn the cost; there’s something that needed to be done and so it shall be done. While everyone else was campaigning for social justice, I wrote about those who did what needed to be done and were paragons (at least relatively) of a greater code and how we can look to their actions to remind us what is truly important – not survival, not life, not any of this small shit – it’s the stuff we can do, and do do that’s important. Or that’s what would have happened.

I could still write about it now, yes. But there’d be active opposition now, and doing that is a waste of energy (see strategem #2). A frame now exists for this story that would take too much to pull down and rebuild. A frame that is not a frame. “mad Respect”? Sure, perhaps it is an honest statement. Perhaps, upon inspection, it really is true that this poster and many others who post in the same fashion really do respect and would treat these men like brothers or like leaders. Problem is, that’s not how you present honest ideas. It should be absolutely clear when you stand for something, not only when I come and inspect. Though the thought is common that these three and perhaps a couple others were “real men”, this is not primarily used for productive and constructive purposes. All of the lines I pulled were highly liked comments, and the last one is indicative of the mindset behind it: the reason why these people are speaking out at all is to damn something else. These guys are heroes because every other guy is a selfish little shit. These guys deserve respect, others dont. Girls cant say all guys are the same anymore, because I’m like one of those guys who would protect their girlfriends no matter what. Because I’m special.

The correct disciplined response to criticism is more discipline. Not this crybaby shit. Oh, how dare you suggest that I have no respect for these men? There’s a reason why that line is always associeted with the stuck up bourgeoisie or the brown-nosing but actually useless servant. People actually on top and actually in control, the real best and not just those who happen to be popular, have a completely different response. Of course the real best would optimally also have popularity, but as it is not the fundamental purpose and as reality is fortuna, the best will be unpopular from time to time. Here is how you respond negatively to things you dislike as a master:

Boss: Listen you French fuck…
Loren: Please. I am Belgian.
Johnny Gat: So make yourself a fuckin’ waffle. We’re done here.
[…]
Johnny Gat: You’re gonna need more help than that, Frenchy.
Loren: I am Belgian!
Johnny Gat: Same thing!
Loren: I’m going to cut that disrespectful tongue from your mouth.

Positive frame. Self focus. Risk. Execution. Power.

Contrast the above with the standard attack model of siccing the mob on someone. It’s because he did something. It’s not because he did something that I didn’t like, but because he did something wrong. It’s kind of hard to see because English doesn’t make it explicit, but wrong is a universal. Whenever anyone shames as an attack tactic, they are essentially saying that that person has done something to offend every atom in the whole universe and violated some holy moral law. Same with the “this is true love” or  “this is a real man” claims; they’re just more complex by one step – they’re not explicitly damning anything, but the moment you disagree publicly they’ll hit the ground running. It’s easier to see how stupid such a claim is when you see it in politics. Do it for THE children. Not yours. Not mine. Not that family over there. THE children.

Greatest part about this strategy? You can’t possibly ever be attacked. Let’s say you do sic the mob on someone, and someone somehow manages to cut through all the zombies. Ah… then you can blame it on those who have fallen! It wasn’t you who attacked. You merely hinted at a slight discomfort. Suggested that there was a possibility that something was going on. But you didn’t do anything. How could you take responsibility? And this is true. These people are not responsible. Then again, responsibility is a concept which only exists in this “slave mentality“.

I do not operate in that world, so it matters not. I’m attacking someone who’s “not responsible”? Sure. I’m just a crusader who acts only on his own thoughts? Yes.  I just ignore and block everyone who disagrees with me? Absolutely. I’m anti-social and awkward? Maybe at times. No, I am not joking here. All of those are true statements. I simply have erased all the shit quality shame and ill-will off, and even that was not conscious. It is the most simple way to see whether or not an idea is valid. Yes, I do only act on my own beliefs. I like doing only things I approve of. The problem is…. what? I think I’m missing the part of the argument where you explain why your position holds any water.

That you’re uncomfortable about it and will withhold your resources and skills from my access in times of need? Okay, fair enough. Was there something else? I’m fairly certain you hinted at something about universal truth and objective morality. Something about the sustenance of civilization and enlightened culture? Or was the thing about not being my friend all you had?

It really is all.

They have nothing else, and can’t have anything else, because they’re always running away.


On a side note, I have made a facebook page for this blog. You may find it here.

It is a legitimate point, regardless of how dishonorable and dirty, that people can withhold resources from you. It’s a claim of nonzero importance – it explains quite well why intellectuals have been historically patrons of the aristocracy and less often a random pleb who happens to get an idea. It is part of why I started this blog – I needed a place to write more, and longer things. Originally I also wanted to move all my political things from facebook, but I have since gotten disinterested in direct analysis of politics. Content is not too interesting to me, it is the structure which I can interact with (all content is structure at some level, but that’s details details).

However, there are news items I do want to comment on every so often. Most of the time I do not care about it enough to explicate an entire idea, but enough that I think it is worth saying and storing in an external memory device somewhere. At the same time, I cannot afford to spam this site either. I like the aesthetic of having “real” entries on here – not just some simple incomplete comment. Pithy is good, thought out is good, but some of the inbetween things don’t really belong here. For a short period of time, this blog actually caused me to write a lot of posts on politics. I’d rather it not happen again. I’d also rather not fill up my posts here with reposts; I read a lot and have thoughts, but haven’t been able to write them here and those that I have, still feel like they’re out of place.

I don’t like twitter because of the ridiculously short limit, so I’m going back to facebook – in a different way.

2 thoughts on “The Active Voice (Scrubs p.2)

  1. https://rationalmale.wordpress.com/2011/09/20/enter-white-knight/

    Every random chump within earshot of your conversation about Game, about your ‘changed’ way of seeing inter-gender relations, about your most objective critical observations of how women ‘are’, etc. – understand, that chump waits everyday for an opportunity to “correct” you in as public a way as he’s able to muster. That AFC who’s been fed on a steady diet of noble intent, with ambitions of endearing a woman’s intimacy through his unique form of chivalry; that guy, he’s aching for an opportunity to prove his quality by publicly redressing a “villain” like you for your chauvinism. Even under the conditions of relative anonymity (like the internet), he’ll still cling to that want of proving his uniqueness just on the off chance that a woman might read his rebuff and be fatefully attracted to him.

    This is the bread and butter of the White Knight beta. It’s best to assume that most guys who pick up on just your Game vibe, to say nothing of overtly talking about it, are going to side with the feminine imperative by default. For practitioners of Beta Game (which is to say the better part of 90% of guys) this is an organic opportunity to identify with women and engage in the same shaming conventions women use without the fear of having it seem contrived.

  2. Thanks for adding me to your blogroll! A great honor.

    It is true this is the bread and butter of the white knight. I think I’m more interested though (generally speaking) in what the bread and butter is and how to systematically remove it from at least my diet than to think about how to convince the white knight to not eat bread and butter. Reading it is great and using the same language as other similar thinkers certainly helps form a cohesive whole for the reader, but I’m the kind of baker who can’t put the icing on the cake.

    It just feels like I’m barking up the wrong tree if I’m calling people betas, AFCs, and white-knights as standard wording rather than just insults. The mechanics are what causes things to move, and the mechanics don’t need such fancy phrases. That being said, fancy phrases are great. I just can’t use them often.

Leave a Reply

