Reactive

When an honest man discovers he is mistaken, he will either cease being mistaken, or cease being honest.

– Anonymous

I simply assume that people will always cease being mistaken. It doesn’t particularly matter to me whether or not he sees what he did as a mistake – it’s not possible for me to verify such a vague guess. A useless vague guess at that. What happens is that he takes some action, and I respond to his action. His “true self” or “true intentions” are irrelevant. My judgement and thus my actions are not based on what he from his perspective intends, or sees himself as. They are based on what my beliefs are and what I perceive as his actions.

It completely cuts out a lot of drama and problems that seem to plague normal (read: statistical mean) human relations. Worrying about someone’s honesty is about as pointless a endeavor as worrying about someone’s goodwill. (What are you going to do when you find out you’re wrong? Get mad at them? And what do you hope to accomplish by that method?)

With this method I can be honestly courteous, all the while more efficiently perceiving the world. If anything goes turns out not as expected, it is because I perceived or acted in a non-optimal fashion.

It’s beautiful how it works out, really.

4 thoughts on “Reactive

  1. Pingback: Corruption « rezzealaux

  2. Pingback: Ghost in the Shell « rezzealaux

  3. Pingback: It’s Never Over « rezzealaux

  4. Pingback: MACH-IV: Results and Justifications « rezzealaux

Leave a Reply

